

ABOUT THE AWARD

Created by a gift endowment from the late Edward A. Dickson, Regent of the University of California from 1913 to 1946, the Dickson Emeritus Professorship Award honors outstanding research, scholarly work, teaching, and/or educational service (e.g. service in professional, University, Academic Senate, emeriti, departmental, or editorial posts or committees) performed at UCLA by an emeritus or emerita professor since retirement.

2006-2007

Arnold Band Comparative Literature
Lester Breslow School of Public Health

Sydney M. Finegold Microbiology, Immunology and Molecular Genetics

2007-2008

Akio Arakawa Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences

Nazir Ali Jairazbhoy Ethnomusicology

James N. Miller Microbiology, Immunology, and Molecular Genetics

David Rapoport Political Science

J. Fred Weston Anderson School of Management

2008-2009

Leonard Apt *Jules Stein Institute*

Giorgio Buccellati Near Eastern Languages & Cultures

Frederick Burwick English

Arthur K. Cho Molecular and Medical Pharmacology / Environmental Health Sciences

Clarence A. Hall, Jr. Earth and Space Sciences
Charles M. Knobler Chemistry & Biochemistry

2009-2010

Malcolm S. Cole Musicology Henry Ansgar (Andy) Kelly English

Andrzej Korbonski Political Science

Gary B. Nash History

2010-2011

Joyce Oldham Appleby History
Kenneth L. Karst Law
Donald P. Tashkin Medicine

2011-2012

Ronald M. Andersen Human Services / Sociology

Wesley S. Moore Surgery

Hartmut E.F. Scharfe

Asian Languages and Cultures

2012-2013

Charlotte G. Neumann Public Health

Vivian Sobchack Theater, Film and Television

Lawrence (Larry) Kruger Neurobiology

CONTINUED:

2013-2014

Eric (Rick) W. Fonkalsrud Surgery

Howard Suber Theater, Film and Television

2014-2015

Francis Chen Electrical Engineering
Leonard Kleinrock Computer Science

Antony R. Orme Geography

2015-2016

Paul Bergman Law

Stephen C. Cederbaum Psychiatry, Pediatrics and Human Genetics

Edwin L. Cooper Anatomy

2016-2017

Robert Bjork Psychology E. Richard Stiehm Pediatrics

Martin Wachs Urban Planning

2017-2018

William A.V. Clark Geography

Rita Effros Pathology and Laboratory Medicine

Judea Pearl Computer Science

2018-2019

Richard L. Abel Law Ivan Berend History James Cherry Pediatrics